What do u call yourself?

Identify Yourself

For to me, to live is Christ . . . .
Philippians 1:21a

Think of all the ways human beings define themselves, beginning with gender: male or female. Then we often cite race: Caucasian, Asian, African, Latin, and so on. Then comes nation of citizenship: American, French, Brazilian, South African, Russian — wherever one was born or became a naturalized citizen. And the list goes on from there: region (“the South”), state (“Pennsylvania”), county (“Orange County”), city (“Dallas”), and even neighborhood or part of the state.

But there is one identifying mark that should supersede all others for the followers of Jesus Christ: Christian. A Christian can be of any race or gender, live in any nation, state, or town, and be part of any subgroup. Paul said in Galatians 3:28, “There is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither slave nor free, there is neither male nor female; for you are all one in Christ Jesus.” Paul also wrote, “For to me, to live is Christ . . . ” (Philippians 1:21) and, “For our citizenship is in heaven . . .” (Philippians 3:20).

People usually identify themselves by the label that is most important to them. Is “Christian” most important to you?
David Jeremiah

I reckon him a Christian indeed that is neither ashamed of the Gospel nor a shame to it.
Matthew Henry

Galatians 2:20 (NKJV)
20 I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.

Tagged: , , , ,

9 thoughts on “What do u call yourself?

  1. fullofrosesinspirationals March 16, 2013 at 11:39 pm Reply

    You write very well! That might explain the pride. I appreciate you bringing to my attention my grammar mistake. I don’t know if the way you went about it was the nicest way. You could have done it not so sarcastic, but still I am thankful. Then again text always gets misunderstood. So I am sure it was me.

    • grammygrace March 16, 2013 at 11:48 pm Reply

      I think there is a huge mistake. I read “Shiloh” and hit the like button. I didn’t make a comment. I sure wouldn’t correct your grammar. I can’t even spell without spell check. I did how ever really relate to your blog. I was truly thrilled that God spoke directly to you and you understood Him. May God continue to bless you.

      • fullofrosesinspirationals March 16, 2013 at 11:54 pm

        Ok I’m sure it was an error but the comment was connected to you somehow and it was very rude but I believe you. 🙂 I was shocked but its ok 🙂

      • fullofrosesinspirationals March 16, 2013 at 11:55 pm

        Haha it’s all in love thank you truly

      • fullofrosesinspirationals March 16, 2013 at 11:56 pm

        If we open our heart looking listening God will speak I will pray that for you

      • grammygrace March 16, 2013 at 11:57 pm

        Thank you. I’m praying for you too. It’s funny how God works, isn’t it. Thanks

      • fullofrosesinspirationals March 17, 2013 at 12:14 am

        Ha that is the truth one more thing Gods voice is still and small it can be confused as your own. But when it interrupts or is extremely wise and not the norm in the way you think you can begin to learn his voice.

      • fullofrosesinspirationals March 17, 2013 at 12:15 am

        To discern takes time

      • grammygrace March 17, 2013 at 12:20 am

        It’s so cool that God really does speak to us so personally. He is so real. I’m glad we share this amazing Savior

Leave a Reply

